Rattlesnakes and another 5k

Well, it’s already August! On Friday I made some statement about posting more regularly… about that. I think it will just take me a while to get in the swing of things. On Saturday morning, bright and early I went on another trail run and encountered yet another rattlesnake. I’m not sure if it’s the time of day (early morning), just the time of year, or the certain trail I do, but this is the second one I’ve encountered in the past month! He (I’m taking a wild guess that it’s a male) was hanging out in the middle of the path. In order to get him to move I threw a rock, which made him start to rattle. I somehow escaped intact but Mr. Snake wasn’t unscathed. Anyway, rattlesnakes aside it was a decent run, especially due to lack of sleep and measured to be about 6.2 miles. I was pleased to start my Saturday/weekend on such a great note.
Tomorrow marks my 3rd 5k in a summer series. My first run was 24:33 and the second was 24:21, so I made minor improvement. I’m hoping that tomorrow I can somehow make it at or under the 24 minute mark. The series doesn’t allow watches and is in the evening heat, which certainly does not help matters and also has handicaps so you have to run past all of the people running at a slower pace than you. I’m going to stop making excuses and see what happens tomorrow, fingers crossed!
Saturday, after the run, I headed out to the lake with some of my friends. It’s a nasty man made lake and still about 30 minutes away, but it’s always fun to hang out and work on the tan.
I’ll be sure to report back on the 5k!

About fitnessnic

My name is Nicole and I am a 22 year old who enjoys running, working out, and healthy living. In just the past year I have completed my first half marathon and first full marathon. I hope to continue running in races and improving my times while sharing my experiences with others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment